254. Extreme Like Button

UCB (Upright Citizens Brigade) is the mecca of all improv comedy theaters. Having taken both improv and writing classes there, I can honestly say that this video perfectly captures what a little gem this place truly is. You can feel the history when you walk inside as well as the excitement that brews from the audience. All I can say is that if you’re in New York City and you love comedy, UCB is a must see. There are shows every night (for cheap) but Sunday night is when the real magic happens. You never know who is going to show up to ASSSSSSCAT. As Amy Poehler jokes, “You get what you pay for. And it’s a free show.” Sometimes the entire cast from SNL will stop by (since many of them got their start at UCB) or someone super famous and hilarious like Robin Williams will make a guest appearance. But watching the players from various sketch groups perform on stage is just as rewarding. You’ll find yourself howling with the rest of the audience, with a semi-cold can of PBR (just $2!) in one hand. Just be ready to wait in line. If you know me at all, you’re aware that I’ll sit in the snow for hours eating slices of pizza just to get a seat.

I have to say that performing on that famous stage during my first level improv graduation show was one of the highlights of me living in New York City. I don’t think I’ve ever been that nervous. Thank you Amy Poehler, Matt Besser, Ian Roberts and Matt Walsh for opening up such a creative outlet for all to enjoy.

*Note to self: SIGN UP FOR IMPROV AS SOON AS MY ANKLE HEALS. It’s been way too long – so long ago, in fact, that I forgot I had full on bangs the last time I performed there. 

**2nd Note to self: DON’T GET BANGS AGAIN.

My friend Jess and I after our Improv 101 Graduation Show

My friend Jess and I after our Improv 101 Graduation Show

Leave a Reply

