176. Mars. Whaaaaaaaaat?

(credit: space.com)

Last night I felt like I lived in the future. Like, the waaaaaaay future. We freakin’ sent a rover (appropriately named Curiosity) up into space and successfully had it land on Mars. Now we are able to see images from Mount Sharp. Let me repeat that. We are able to see images from Mount Sharp. The red planet now feels like it’s a plane ride away away and we have NASA to thank for that. I stayed up until 2 a.m. in order to listen to the Nasa scientists and engineer team behind this epic mission. Then, of course, I had the craziest dream of my life where I was told NASA stole my rover mission idea. I woke up remembering that someone in my dream also told me that I could have been the next J.K. Rowling and made billions of dollars. I love how the people in my dreams are that specific.

Congratulations to NASA for inspiring a nation and for succeeding at what many people in this world never thought was possible.  Take a look back at the unbelievable moment that was August 5, 2012 at 10:32 p.m.

Curiosity Has Landed

Side note: Mission Controller Bobak Ferdowsi might be the coolest guy at NASA. Ever. His mohawk has already accumulated over 16,000 followers on Twitter. I am definitely one of them.

Leave a Reply

