174. NYC or Bust

 

After I graduated from college in 2002, I wanted to become a sitcom writer. After being out in “the real world” for 10 years, I’ve realized how hard it is to actually fulfill that dream. I’m always writing and creating but right now my goal over the next few months is to get back to New York City, the place I can’t wait to call home..again.

In my attempt to get the gold medal in networking, I’m doing a little shameless promotion in order to secure a job in “The Big Apple.” You may be wondering, who is this lady? What’s her deal? Well, I recently earned my graduate degree in journalism from the University of Oregon and I’m a reliable, witty, creative, fun-loving, and very energetic girl (can you say that after the age of 30?) who just wants to get back to Manhattan (or Brooklyn!). If you’re wondering what I can bring to a company here are a few things that I have done:

I’ve written a daily column for CBS New York about the “5 Best Things To Do Tonight In NYC” for almost 2 years:

I’ve discovered my love for Photoshop and copywriting:

(Images shot by Carly Petrone, promotions are fictional)

I’ve created a website re-design (5 pages) for Emerald Lanes, a Eugene-based bowling alley:

I’ve become obsessed with photography (specifically with Hipstamatic (iPhone app)):

Click here to see photos from NYC.

Other examples:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I know I graduated in a time where jobs are few and far between. Instead of feeling defeated and overwhelmed, I’ve decided to be proactive and express what I can bring to a company as an employee. I’m looking to work in a space where I can grow and write and create. Please get in touch with me via email or comment on this post if you feel I would be a good fit for your company or organization. Thanks so much in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Comments

  1. B From Bend says:

    You are AWESOME!

  2. Stephanie says:

    That is the best resume I’ve ever seen!!! I would hire you in a sec!

  3. Nancy Petrone says:

    Wow. I would hire you in a minute if I had a company in New York. You sound too good to be true. What a talented young woman you are. Nancy in Bend

  4. I should move to NYC just to hire you! You are one heck of a lady, writer, photographer, web designer, etc. Is it possible you can do everything and anything you desire? Yes! Of course, it’s possible, probable and in the works. Move to NYC – the witty city will embrace you as you should be embraced. NJAnHMB.

  5. Suzi Steffen says:

    1. Good luck! 2. No, you’re not a ‘girl.’ Woman up. 😉

Leave a Reply

