154. Nothing says 4th of July like a Baby in Bloomers & Vietnamese Sandos

Baby Addie and her “firecrackers”

One of my dear friends from college just had her first baby named Adelaide (we all call her Addie) a few weeks ago. She and husband are already the best parents and they even had a bunch of us over to their new place in SF for the 4th of July (hence the flag). We ate, drank, listened to music, sat in the sun, and reminisced about old times and talked about what’s ahead. Time sure does fly by but I’m glad we had a day to sit back, relax, and enjoy each others company.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a typical blogpost without a picture of what we ate during these festivities. Hill and Brandon introduced us to an amazing Vietnamese sandwich shop on Clement St. I got the Crispy Chicken Sandwich with Vietnamese Cole Slaw. The roll was perfectly chewy while the rest of the ingredients (shredded carrots, cilantro, and jalapeños) weren’t overpowering at all. They were the perfect complement. Here’s a visual:

Crispy Chicken Sandwich w/ Vietnamese Cole Slaw

I ended the evening down in Palo Alto with my parents. This was slightly awkward since my parents decided to host the annual block party (did I mention I haven’t been to one of these since, um, never?). Basically, it came down to these four things:

  1. I’m now old (but still “the middle daughter”)
  2. I didn’t know half the people there
  3. Kids are finally back on the block
  4. Webster St. folks like their vino!

Blurry but here I am with my fun-loving neighbors, Bettina & Peter

Overall, my fourth of July was fun and eventful. Although I didn’t see any fireworks, I did watch my dog freak out every time a firecracker went off outside.

Leave a Reply

