129. Ducks Fly East To Manhattan

Oh, look at us!  Here we are about 10 days ago eagerly awaiting our trip to visit ad agencies in New York City.  None of us had any idea what to expect.  Especially me.  I didn’t know a single person as the lone grad student but I was ready to find out more about the fascinating world of advertising.

This trip was a sentimental one because I just moved from New York City last June.  As soon as I landed, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel.  Overwhelmed?  Over it?  Exhausted? In love all over again?  It was everything I remembered it to be and more (even the rain we brought from Oregon couldn’t damper my affection for the Big Apple).  I found myself actually missing the blaring sound of the alarm going off in the subway and the unsettling feeling of being in a taxi with the least safest driver in the city.

In a nutshell, what I took away from this past week is that I want to work in an environment that encourages quirky behavior and strange ideas. I want to be surrounded by smart and curious people.  I don’t want to feel stifled by the man at the top or the corporate rules of working at a large organization.  If I can get paid for voicing my ideas and putting them down on paper, I’ll be one happy lady.

I left Eugene wanting to work at a large agency but I walked away intoxicated by the smaller companies like Big Spaceship and Mr. Youth.  These were places where everyone came together (CEO & Jr. Strategist) for a common cause: to create the best campaign for their clients.  As someone who has worked in the dreaded cubicle, it was refreshing to see agencies where there weren’t any dividers.  Although, I was disappointed to see only 2 ping-pong tables out of the 6 agencies we visited, many of the offices made up for it with these quirky accessories and decorations:

DDB had their very own Ronald MacDonald (who inappropriately asked me to lei him upon arrival).

Ogilvy shared their editing bay with us. This included old school “astronaut-like” equipment (like tapes!)

My personal favorite: the Women’s bathroom at Mr. Youth.

Overall, I have to say this was one of the most exciting and rewarding experiences of my life.  I got to immerse myself in a world I’ve always wanted to know more about (thank you Deb Morrison) and I was able to get a feel for what a “9 to 5” job in the creative field really entails.  I also learned the following: typography matters, making your partner look better is key, people at agencies like to say the word “nimble,” and presenting a campaign idea at Wieden + Kennedy is pretty f*$%#@g awesome.

Now, if only I could figure out why these two people forgot to put their shirts on:

Comments

  1. Babe! Of course you’d be in the middle of the entire group in the SOJC pic! So cute! Love the last pic too 😉

Leave a Reply

