97. Grateful for lentils and cake

While I was in Los Angeles last week my friend Jaime (who writes the entertaining blog Day Old News) took me to Gratitude Cafe in Hollywood.  Now, the main reason she took me there was because she knew I’d find it quite hilarious.  That, I did.  Lets just say, here’s the menu:

I ordered the “I AM HUMBLE”, which looked like this:

I think the best part of the experience was when the waitress informed us that the question of the day was “What miracle is happening in your life today?”  I was grateful for that moment.  Then I digged into my lentils and brown rice.

Immediately after dropping off my friend at work, I realized I was only blocks away from Doughboys, the restaurant/bakery that makes the best Red Velvet Cake in LA (you can also mail order it, it’s that good, I promise).  If there’s anything I learned from my time working on The Ellen Degeneres Show, it was that Ellen has great taste in cake.  We each got individual red velvet cakes (like the one below) for her 50th bday show.  You can’t tell in this picture but it’s actually about the size of four cupcakes put together.  It’s feels your soul with sugar and happiness:

Notice the TWO forks inside the bag (which I skillfully asked for even though it was only for me).

 

Leave a Reply

