61. Shout out to all the preemies out there!

(Reunion with the nurse that took care of me for two months while I was in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at Huntington Hospital)

32 years ago, today, I was born 10 weeks early on February 14, 1980. I weighed 2 lbs, 4 ounces. In a time when many preemies were born with major complications, I couldn’t be more thankful for the care I received at Huntington Memorial Hospital in Pasadena, CA. My mom was such a trooper. After being on bed rest since month 2 of her pregnancy, she was forced to induce her labor due to an illness that was starting to infect me. My poor parents were already dealing w/ my older sister who was getting an operation on her eye (thankfully at the same hospital).

For all of the birthday wishes I’ve received today I wish I could transfer them to my mom, who not only took a risk by having me at 30 weeks, but has helped me grow into the woman that I am today. Boy, have I come a long way since fitting into my grandfather’s hand!

Leave a Reply

