23. (Another) another reason I want to be a comedy writer: Because of Melissa McCarthy

For my previous reason please see #15. Just wanted to add a:

(The cast of Bridesmaids, From left: Melissa McCarthy, Ellie Kemper, Rose Bryne, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Maya Rudolph, Kristen Wiig, credit: Huffingtonpost.com)

*Side note: Melissa McCarthy can now introduce herself as “Academy Award Nominee Melissa McCarthy” because she was just nominated for an OSCAR for Best Supporting Actress in Bridesmaids! I know I would introduce myself that way if I were her. No matter who asked me:

“What’s your name, Miss?”

I’d always answer with:

“Oh, it’s Academy Award Nominee Melissa McCarthy. That’s capital A-”

It makes for a longer autograph (and possibly more wrist injuries) but, hey, that’s the price you pay.

(Kristen Wiig (left) and Annie Mumolo (right), credit: latimesblogs.com.latimes.com)

Also wanted to give a shout out to Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo for their nod for Best Original Screenplay. Not bad for a duo who’s never written a screenplay together!

Leave a Reply

