4. A few inventions that might be so stupid they’re brilliant

Look how happy, relaxed, and spirited he looks!

We’ve all seen those ridiculous informercials on TV for completely useful useless products.  But how is it that these useless products have created entire stores called “As Seen On TV?”  Because people are buying them.  We made fun of the Snuggie, but in reality, how many Americans actually own one?  Millions.  4 million Snuggies were sold in 2009 to be exact.  There are even Doggie Snuggies and Custom Snuggies available now (hence spin offs like the Slanket and I can’t even go into the marketing behind Forever Lazy).  Still I’ve bought a Snuggie. Actually, I bought 5.  I got 5 University of Oregon themed Snuggies last Christmas for my immediate family.  I “snuggled” in my Snuggie at the Rose Bowl (Go Ducks!) and kept it wrapped around me until I got to the parking lot. Supporting my team while staying warm at the same time?  Score!

Some other completely insane but useful items that have been circling “The Book,” (which I’ve recently learned is what many people refer to as Facebook these days) include the following:

Possible tag line: “Leave Your Cork At Home.” Anyone else think they should have used white wine for this?

The Office Sleeping Bag, Possible Tag Line: “The Office Sleeping Bag: Go Ahead. Your Boss Will Never Notice.”

Not creepy at all. Why do I feel like that guy just peed himself.

Check out these smaller inventions that were recently marketed. Personally, I like #3 and #10.

Leave a Reply

